Concacaf: USA retain title, Jamaica earn first-ever Women’s World Cup berth

USA beat rivals Canada 2-0 to clinch their eighth Concacaf Women’s Championship title at the Toyota Stadium on Wednesday night.

Rose Lavelle fired home from the edge of the box just two minutes in to score her third of the tournament.

Alex Morgan then buried the match from four yards out a minute to time to score her seventh goal of the continental showpiece.

With the win, the reigning world champions finished the tournament with an enormous 26 goals and without conceding a single goal.

For Canada, its a fifth Concacaf final defeat to USA but they join the Americans in qualifying for the 2019 Women’s World Cup.

Panama 2 (2) – 2 (4) Jamaica 


Earlier, Jamaica defeated Panama 4-2 on penalties in the third-place match to become the first Caribbean country to qualify for the Women’s World Cup.

Khadija Shaw (14′) and Jody Brown (95′) scored for the Reggae Girlz while Panama’s goals came from captain Natalia Mills (75′) and Lineth Cedeno (115′).

Goalkeeper Nicole McClure came in for Sydney Schneider in the 120th minute, saving shots from Lineth Cedeno and Kenia Rangel.

Yomira Pinzon and Erika Hernandez converted their chances for Panama but they proved not enough.

Deneisha Blackwood, Ashleigh Shim, Christina Chang and Dominique Bond-Flasza converted from the spot to fire Jamaica to France 2019.

The Panamanians still have a chance to reach France 2019 when they play Argentina in a double-legged Concacaf/Conmebol World Cup qualification playoff.

Individual awards

Golden Glove: Yenith Bailey (Panama)
Golden Ball: Julie Ertz (USA)
Golden Boot: Alex Morgan (7 goals, USA)
Young Player of the Year: Jody Brown (16 years, Jamaica)

Qualified: 2019 Women’s World Cup 

Asia: Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, Thailand (AFC Qualifiers Roundup)

South America: Brazil, Chile (Conmebol Qualifiers Roundup)

Europe: England, France (hosts), Germany, Italy, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden
(Uefa Qualifiers Roundup)

Pending WWC slots

Africa: 3; Oceania: 1; Argentina v Panama playoff: 1; Netherlands v Switzerland European playoff: 1.

2019 WWC draw: 8 December, Paris


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here