Highlights: Morocco finish third in COTIF 2018

  • Morocco WNT drew 2-2 with Albacete on Wednesday 8 August to finish third in the 2018 COTIF Women’s Tournament held in Spain.
  • The podium finish was Morocco’s second following their bronze finish last year. 
  • Levante edged Madrid CFF 1-0 in the final to win their third COTIF title.

Morocco came from two goals down to force a 2-2 draw in their final match of the tournament against Albacete to pick their second successive COTIF bronze.

Gema Arrabal gave the Spanish side the lead in the 15th minute before Sladjana Bulatovic made it two-zip in the 35th.

Chahiri Ghizlane, one of the best players of the tournament, pulled one back in the 53rd minute before Jraidi Btissam equalised for Morocco in the 65th.

The draw ensured Morocco a third-place finish on five points: one win, two draws and one defeat.

It exemplified Morocco’s outing, which started with a 1-0 defeat to Madrid CFF who have just signed German-Ghanaian Eunice Beckmann.

India demolition

Morocco grew into the tournament, hammering India WNT 5-1 in their second match.

Goals by Chebbak, Ibtissam and Aziza Rabbah sandwiched between Badri Najat’s brace overturned Sandhiya Ranganathan’s early lead for India.

India, marking their COTIF debut, was the only other national team in this year’s edition.

Levante draw

Morocco’s third and penultimate match was a more tightly-contested affair with Chebback and Najat on target in a 2-2 draw with eventual winners Levante.

Grand final

In the final, Levante, who finished fourth behind Morocco last year, grabbed the 1-0 win courtesy of Alharilla Casado’s 65th minute.

The title was Levante’s first since 2013 and third overall.

Morocco is the third African women’s national team to feature in COTIF after Namibia WNT (2015) and Kenya WNT (2016).

COTIF is a by-invitational tournament held in Spain every year.

COTIF 2018 Final Position

(1) Levante

(2) Madrid CFF

(3) Morocco WNT

(4) Albacete

(5) India WNT

COTIF Champions

2018: Levante

2017: Atletico Madrid

2016: Real Betis

2015: Athletic Bilbao

2014: Barçelona

2013: Levante

2012: Levante


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here