Tanzania: Unbeaten JKT Queens win maiden league title with win over holders Mlandizi Queens

JKT Queens are the 2017/18 Tanzanian champions
JKT Queens clinch the Tanzanian title unbeaten. Photo: Elizabeth Buliba.

JKT Queens finally got their hands on the Tanzania Women’s Premier League (TWPL) trophy on Saturday 7 July.

The Dar es Salaam-based side wrapped up their glorious procession to the title with a 6-2 demolition of holders Mlandizi Queens to bag their first league title.

JKT Queens had already been confirmed champions of the Serengeti Lite-sponsored league with two games in hand.

They went on to dismiss Kigoma 2-0 in their penultimate match before their Saturday victory sealed an invisible season.

Goals by Donisia Minja, Fatuma Mustapha, Stumai Athuman and a Wema Maile own goal had JKT leading 4-0 by the break on Saturday.

Veteran Tanzania playmaker Mwanahamisi Omary pulled one back for the holders after the breather but Asha Rashid responded in kind soon thereafter.

Mustapha then completed her brace as JKT, who stunned the holders 9-0 in their season opener, finished the season just like they had started it.

The invincibles

This was the second season of the league, which commenced with a group stage featuring 12 teams pooled in two groups.

JKT finished the regular season unbeaten to top Group A on 15 points, progressing to the Super 8 alongside the top four in each group.

They then went on to collect 14 wins in 14 in the unified Super 8 to finish tops on 42 points, 12 points ahead of second-placed Kigoma Sisterz.

Alliance Girls on 24 points finished third as the 2017 champions Mlandizi finished a distance fourth on 22 points.

With that, curtains come down on a majestic 2017/2018 season that saw Serengeti Lite come in as the official sponsors of the newly-introduced Super 8.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here