UWC stun holders Celtic in Sasol National Championship opener

Khanya Xesi was on target as UWC beat holders Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies (Image: Safa)
Khanya Xesi (right) was on target as UWC beat holders Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies (Image: Safa)

An electrifying AWCON 2018 done, we return to league action across the continent.

And… what better way to start than with UWC’s stunning win over reigning South African champions Bloemfontein Celtics in the Sasol National Championship 2018 opener on Tuesday, 4 December?

Here are the results from the opening day action…

Group C

Bloemfontein Celtics 0-3 UWC Ladies

Holders Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies commenced their quest to win a third successive league title with a humbling defeat to UWC Ladies.

A Molatelo Kobo brace and a goal from budding Banyana Banyana striker Khanya Xesi sealed the impressive victory for the 2018 Western Cape champions.

The win extends UWC’s unbeaten run this season, a brilliant feat having had to make do without star player Thembi Kgatlana who joined Houston Dash in 2018.

Player of the Match: Molatelo Kobo

READ: South African Trio | Africans in NWSL 2018 review

Group B

Richmond United 0-7 Durban Ladies

Meanwhile, Sthembile Shange netted a hat-trick as Richmond United marked the largest defeat of the day.

Memory Makhanya helped herself to a brace while Slindile Ngubane and Nomvuyo Bhengu scored a goal apiece.

Player of the Match: Sthembile Shange (Durban Ladies)

READ: Celtic clinch 2017 Sasol League title

Group A

Golden Ladies 0-5 Thunderbirds

Philisa Mjambane scored twice in the final match of the day as Thunderbirds kicked off their second Championship campaign on a high.

Siyamthanda Skeyi as well as South Africa U-20 strikers Zimasa Dekeda and Anelisa Nanasele were on target for the 2018 Eastern Cape champions.

Player of the Match: Philisa Mjambane

READ: Debutants Thunderbirds through to 2017 Championship semis

Recap: Sasol League Format

Regular season

The Sasol-sponsored South African women’s topflight league comprises a massive 144 teams spread equally across the nine provinces.

The nine provincial winners at the end of regular season proceed to the National Championship whose winner is crowned league champion.

The champion pockets R200,000 (approx.$1,400) while each Player of the Match (Diski Queen) bags R5,000 (approx.$360).

READ: Sasol League prize money doubled ahead of 2017 Championship

Title contenders

This year’s championship features the nine provincial winners namely:

Provincial Champion
Group A
1. Golden Ladies North West
2. Thunderbirds Eastern Cape
3. TUT Ladies Gauteng
Group B
4. Richmond United Northern Cape
5. Durban Ladies Kwa-Zulu Natal
6. First Touch Academy Limpopo
Group C
7. Bloemfontein Celtic (holders) Free State
8. UWC Ladies Western Cape
9. Coal City Wizards Mpumalanga




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here